Support Independent Analysis


Who Are We

Madeline Weld - Director

Madeline Weld is retired from Health Canada, where she worked as a toxicologist evaluator with the Food Directorate. She is president of Population Institute Canada (, a non-profit organization that promotes awareness of the impact of human population growth on society and the environment. Madeline serves on the board of Canadian Humanist Publications (CHP) and is a co-editor of Humanist Perspectives, the magazine it publishes. She has a B.Sc. in zoology from the University of Guelph (Guelph, Ontario, 1977) and an M.S. (1979) and Ph.D. (1983) in physiology from Louisiana State University in Baton Rouge.

John Meyer – President

John Meyer is a semi-retired small business owner with a degree in economics. He has had a number of articles published in Canada’s major newspapers dealing with a range of topics from population, immigration and the environment to the failings of GDP based metrics for social policy formation. He has also presented a paper on Energy Currency at a conference of that name in Split, Croatia. Mr. Meyer is currently President of the NGO “Canadians for a Sustainable Society” and owner and designer at a tiny medium tech manufacturing company. He dabbles in solar electric and heating systems as well as electric bikes and has finished the major construction of a house which he expects to be (eventually) energy positive. His book, “The Renewable Energy Transition, Realities for Canada and the World” was published in the late fall of 2019.

His primary interests are the changes necessary to achieve a sustainable society, population cycles and the reasons for failed human social structures throughout history.

Sandy Agnew – Director

Sandy Agnew was originally trained as a chemical engineering technician and has worked in the fields of wastewater treatment, waste disposal and recycling, health and safety and most recently in ecological restoration, operating his small business, EcoMedic Ecosystem Restoration Services.

Sandy served as Councillor in Oro-Medonte Township from 2006 to 2010 and was the 2006 Green Party of Canada candidate in Simcoe North. Sandy has served on the boards of the Nottawasaga Valley and Lake Simcoe Region Conservation Authorities and was recently reappointed to the provincial Lake Simcoe Coordinating Committee. Over his lifetime he has been active in numerous non-government environmental organizations, is currently a founding member of AWARE Simcoe and AWARE Oro-Medonte and is a strong advocate for a sustainable society and transparency in government.

Alec Adams – Financial Officer

Studied physics and maths at university in England. Emigrated to Canada in 1959 and worked in information and business systems management. Has had a lifetime of involvement in a variety of NGOs, including Pollution Probe at the U of T in the 1960’s, which lead to involvement in the founding of Zero Population Growth Canada, of which he was a director for 10 years, including two years as president.

In 1982, became involved in the founding of a Toronto based organization concerned with fostering civil relationships between Canada and the Soviet Bloc. This became Toronto/Volgograd (formerly Stalingrad), which for 10 years organized exchanges between the two cities. A twin city agreement was signed during the time that Art Eggleton was Mayor. Travelled to Volgograd in 1986 and 1993, the second time with a Toronto City alderman and another TV board member, representing Toronto at the 50th anniversary of the Battle of Stalingrad. Treasurer for most of the ten years that the organization functioned. Served for 10 years on the executive committee of the Bennington Heights Residents Association.

Moved to Orillia in 2006. Joined the Green Party the same year and soon became active within the Party. Now in fifth term as CEO of the Simcoe North Federal Green Party Association. A board member, with Sandy Agnew, of AWARE Simcoe, and has been an executive member of the Champlain Sailing Club in Orillia for twenty years, including five years as commodore. A founding director with John Meyer, of Canadians for a Sustainable Society.

How To Use the Website